Main menu

Ludovico Ensemble

Monday, November 21, 2011 - 8:00pm
Seully Hall

The Ludovico Ensemble presents two Stefan George settings by Arnold Schönberg from 1908, right as the composer was moving away from traditional tonality. Das Buch der Hängenden Gärten and theString Quartet No. 2 in F# minor represent a turning point in Schoenberg's output, written at a time a great personal turmoil. The delicate Das Buch der Hängenden Gärten is perhaps unfairly overshadowed by the more widely performed Pierrot lunaire. Milton Babbitt referred to the beginning of the fourth movement of the second String Quartet as "one of the most revolutionary moments in musical history." Featuring sopranos Jennifer Ashe and Aliana de la Guardia.

Back to top