The Boston Conservatory will be CLOSED on Monday, February 8, due to inclement weather. All classes, lessons, rehearsals and performances are canceled, and all offices are closed. Updates will be posted to, as available.

Main menu

Bach - The Complete Lute Suites

Title: The Complete Lute Suites

Author: J.S. Bach

Description: This book is a collection of Bach’s four complete lute suites; BWV 995, 996,997 and 1006a; as well as the Prelude, Fugue and Allegro (BWV 998). Each suite contains six movements; Prelude, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Bouree (or Gavotte), and Gigue. When played on Marimba, these suites can be extremely technically difficult as well as a great musical challenge.

Annotated by Greg Simonds

Back to top