The Boston Conservatory will be CLOSED on Monday, February 2, due to snow. All classes, lessons, rehearsals, performances and Admissions auditions are cancelled, and all offices are closed. Practice rooms on campus will remain open and available to students. Updates will be posted to, as available.

Main menu

Burritt - Caritas

Title: Caritas

Composer: Michael Burritt

Caritas is a 3 movement piece that employs a traditional harmonic language throughout. The 1st movement titled "Mystic" employs rapid double lateral and sequential sticking patterns that create a blurred effect while maintaining a strong rhythmic pulse. The 2nd movement "Solemn" is a chorale that employs one-handed, traditional, and double lateral rolls. The 3rd movement "Majestic" is a dance-like conclusion that has rapid arpeggiated figures in the left hand as well as octaves and sequential sticking patterns.

Annotated  by Chase Bronstein

Back to top